I’ve been busy, but I haven’t been busy writing. If you’re one of the many people that have continued to visit my blog over the last couple of months, you know this already. I have a million excuses I could share, but the prevailing reason I haven’t been writing is because I haven’t wanted to write about anything. The thousands of ideas I’ve had lined up against the million excuses and battled like Spartans and Persians. The ideas fought valiantly, but they couldn’t overcome the numbers, that darkness that poured over them from above.

The battles continue, and I’m starting to win. Some of the ideas that managed to retreat are even coming back to join our ranks—and we are strong. Our strength is in our lines; I will not send them off to die alone. I will secure their advance. So, for now, I push one clear message, a collage of ideas.

What have I been doing this whole time? Surely the Man of Many Hats has not been sitting idle.

You’re right, of course. I have kept myself very busy. After my friend Clay died, my desire to control my surroundings intensified. Every morning, I’ve woken up and immediately began pushing and stretching myself so that I can collapse into one big pile of horse and rider at the end of the day, hoping to get some real sleep that is untouched by loss and haunting visuals. That sleep hardly ever comes, but I’ve pressed on anyway. And I get stuff done. My new normal is starting to take shape.

Because I’ve been unable to write creatively (music, blog posts, poetry, checks—you name it), my other talents have gotten a lot more attention. The new girlfriend, who has been so wonderful and supportive through all of this, has been the beneficiary of a lot of this unrestrained energy. She even let me make her graduation announcements. It wasn’t a charge I took lightly, and the results show this. I couldn’t be more proud of how this turned out.
Picture
Graduation announcements
Nothing makes a man feel more like a man that being able to make his girl something she can use, and it’s even more of a testosterone booster when she shows it off and brags about it to her friends.

We drove through Texas this spring, and I made her let me take some pictures of her. Despite how gorgeous she is, she doesn't act like she is, so it took some convincing. I took these with my iPhone 5, so they didn’t start out great (besides having the perfect subject), but that’s why God invented Photoshop … And it turns out that I paid attention during my graphic design classes in college.

I added some convincing clouds, changed the lighting, and brought out the blues in the blue bonnets. For those of you who are fluent in Photoshop, you’re probably laughing right now, but I don’t do this shit for a living. I do this on a Sunday night, bat .750 at softball on a Monday night, and play live music somewhere on a Tuesday night. I don’t care about being the best—just being my best, and I do a helluva a job at that …
Picture
Photoshopin' like a boss



Leave a Reply.

    Rob Blevins

    Rob is the Man of Many Hats. He has a background in English, but his plethora of talents and thirst for knowledge are what define him. This blog is an exploration of learning and self-actualization--just for the hell of it.

    Archives

    January 2013

    Categories

    All
    Music
    Songwriting
    The Man Of Many Hats