I'm sure you're asking yourself . . . 

No, I'm not obsessed with hats. Ties, maybe. And yes, by the way, I did drop an ellipses in the first sentence of my first paragraph. I am bringing dot-dot-dot back. It existed way before Seinfield's "Yada-Yada" episode. That yada-yada crap doesn't come close to omitting quite the way that the dot-dot-dots do. You can also call them . . . s (that's the plural noun form for them in geek speak) or Ellipses. Seriously, it's so liberal and free in all the ways you can use it to omit information that it's basically European. Read a book. Or better yet, go to a favorite of mine and read online: Grammar Girl on the Ellipsis.

I can't wait to have a girl tell me that she likes my . . . s, and I'd be willing to leave that open to interpretation . . . 

I've been told that the way I spell, use grammar, and write, the way that sentences drip out from me in units; in words; in letters; and punctuation marks onto a page or screen, slowly enticing you to want more--is a turn on. I once texted a former Latin classmate of mine in a tone that is legal marriage in some countries, and it was all in Latin, back and forth. Oro, playa! That's to speak, in Latin. If you get this last joke, I guarantee that you think that my writing is sexy. You think that intelligence is sexy. It is a trait that you seek for in a mate. My hat is off for you, my ladies. And if that idea doesn't scream sexy to you, you are either a.) a relative of mine, b.) one of the exes I no longer talk to, or c.) not interested in what a man does when he isn't wearing his hat

Like all talents, not all knowledge is used for good. Sometimes it's French, sometimes it's Spanish. Sometimes it's Latin. Sometimes it's Nickelback (I just had to look up the spelling for them). I loathe their music so much. Seriously. They are a diluted, hear-no-evil concoction of talent and bad, at best. And at worst? Well, they are even worse when you watch their music videos, and do yourself a favor, or, better said, yet--if  you still enjoy having a quiet place in your soul that is free of the resulting memory of such a damaging experience as watching their videos--go ahead, then--and don't watch them . . . 

The dot-dot-dot even fixes bad transitions.

 . . . 

Sorry, my dog just bombarded me for attention, This blog would have been completely different from here on out if she hadn't just distracted me. She's adorable, and she's a family dog. Not in the sense that most people would think by name alone, though. She's a dog with a big family. When I see my friends from St. Louis, they ask about her like she is their niece. When I lived with my brother and my sister in-law, they got to have her when I had work, school, or schoolwork, which was a lot. Now, they have visitation rights to her. I even have college friends that still ask about her. I'm talking early-20s friends. I'm surprised that most of these people remember that they had their early 20s. It's so bad that one of my friends from college thinks that the early 20s--as one collective unit--is a huge conspiracy, something that the government made up, and that's why it's so blurry . . .  There, I did it again. You knew exactly what I had to say about that whole thing. I didn't even have to type it out. The point of that aside is that 2012 came and went. Most of us are still here and living today. I told you so.

Everyone adores this dog. I am biased, but there are a whole lot of people that are biased toward my dog, too. That's how it is. She's a hat all of her own . . . And, that, my friends, is the best way to use the ellipsis yet--when It goes without saying.



Leave a Reply.

    Rob Blevins

    Rob is the Man of Many Hats. He has a background in English, but his plethora of talents and thirst for knowledge are what define him. This blog is an exploration of learning and self-actualization--just for the hell of it.

    Archives

    January 2013

    Categories

    All
    Music
    Songwriting
    The Man Of Many Hats